Why did a small, badly designed experiment make me change my teaching forever?

Written by:

It was obvious to me that my students had suspect ideas about note-taking. What was not so obvious to me that I have some deeply ingrained assumptions about it too.

The following is my attempt to describe a small investigation I carried out with my Psychology classes. Whilst the results were not what I expected, I can genuinely say that it has made a significant difference to what I do on a regular basis in my lessons.

Objectively, most of the ‘findings’ in this project were things I knew already. However they hadn’t all struck home. Some of my long-established teaching habits needed a bit of a shake-up. I’ve read lots of research based advice about teaching which in theory should have meant I didn’t need to learn this particular lesson.

Ironically, this little episode of ‘discovery’ teacher learning has led me to adopt a more ‘traditionalist’ approach to my teaching.

The challenge:

I have a number of well-meaning pupils whose approach to studying  defers learning (i.e. understanding and committing to memory) to an undefined future date. Within a lesson, their end goal is having the right answers written down rather than necessarily knowing them. It seems to me that this obsession with recording information correctly once, gets in the way with the messier (and ideally iterative) reality of learning new material.

It seemed fairly clear to me for with some of my own students, ‘thinking hard’ has become detached from the act of writing. As a result time spent studying does not always lead to much learning.

I had a cunning plan. A simple experiment could prove to my students just how futile their approach was.

The results were entirely opposite to what I expected.

The context:

I have three year 12 Psychology groups. Each has a lesson on Wednesday and Thursday.

On Wednesday, I would teach one class using mindless transcription and the other using a series of challenging questions which they needed to be able to answer to show they understood the material.

The following day would include a short test and the second half of the content for Group A and a short test followed by a chance to write up their own revision notes for the faster moving Group B.

The material in question was the methods, findings and conclusions of Schaffer & Emerson’s research into the carer and infant attachment process.

I predicted that transcription would presumably not add much to pupil learning though it would slow the lesson down. Thus I would expect the group learning in this way to cover less ground and remember no more of it than the class which didn’t waste time writing neat copies of their notes booklets.

Things did not go as expected.

Process:

experiment outline

In Group B’s lesson pupils:  

  • Answered questions about attachment (verbally: in pair, in groups, and as a whole class)
  • Explored why it was being researched
  • Designed our own study to review attachment stages in a group of infants
  • Compared this with Schaffer & Emersons’s own version
  • Reviewed their findings and the stages of attachment which they developed.

There were regular questions; some ‘pair and share’, some open, some randomly selected using lollipop sticks. This was all reinforced with a 3 minute video summary which we then discussed. We also had time to explore some of the strengths and limitations of Schaffer and Emerson’s research.

Pupils enjoyed the lesson and several thanked me afterwards.

In Group A’s lesson:

They covered similar ground but stopped (for 5 or 6 minutes) on 5 separate occasions to copy answers into their books.

As a result we didn’t get as far (barely fitting in the overview video and not considering the strengths or limitations).

Furthermore the lesson was quite ‘boring.’ Lots of writing. During the writing slots it was clear that a range of writing/thinking speeds produced considerable differences in how much was actually written down. For both of these reasons I didn’t feel that it was very successful and would have been concerned if it was being graded on the grounds that there were no palpable buzz in the room. 

When my third class entered I gave them a quick schpeel on the experiment and invited them to choose which group to join. They joined Group A.

Test:

The next day all students carried out a ‘purple pen challenge.’ In this task students are given a coloured pen (no prizes for guessing the colour) with which to quickly jot down what they remember about a previous topic. After 5 or 6 minutes the purple pens are collected in and students use a different colour to add to what is missing/correct any errors using their notes and questions to peers or teacher if necessary.

The results were surprising – to me anyway.

Findings:

fixed typo

The students in Group A all remembered at least 60% of the content. They also were mostly able to spell key names (Schaffer & Emerson) and used more technical language in their points.

In Group B there was one student who remembered more than anyone – we had ‘covered’ more content. The rest of the group did not fare so well. Over half (10 pupils out of 18) remembered 50% or less. Four students seemed to be able to recall nothing at all.

The penny dropped for me when one of these four expressed surprise at her inability to remember anything.

‘That’s weird I remember the lesson, remember talking about Schaffer and Emerson and the video….it was really good. I just can’t remember anything in specific’

Outstanding. I thought. And – do you know I think in the bad old days the lesson could well have been given that badge.

It seemed unreasonable to continue the trial – also Group B needed to re-cover the same material again. I stopped the experiment and am still exploring the implications for my own teaching.

Reflection:

So where did it all go wrong? Why was my smugly developed attempt to weed out pointless writing scuppered by its own results?

On reflection I’ve decided the following two are plausible explanations.

1. Poor operationalization. I wanted to test excellent questioning vs mindless transcription. I probably actually tested reasonable questioning without any drawn out written questions vs regular writing of written answers – though pupils in Group B were using their course-notes when writing, they were doing so to answer questions in at least 5 of the 6 writing episodes.

2. My questioning and neat-writing free lesson was not as good as I (and some of the students) seemed to think. On reflection I think that even the pair and share questions allow wiggle room or students to opt (or check) out for a spell in a way which written questions do not. In a repeat test I would like to allow them to use a sheet of scrap paper to jot down short answers/points/words which is then recycled afterwards – removing panic about whether it’s correct/neat enough etc.

On balance I think it was too easy to opt out of my more interactive lesson and this was compounded by a pace which may have appeared buzzy but which only one student managed to keep up with.

I’m still thinking about why I seem to conflate writing with boring. Does the spectre of boring writing say more about my own assumptions and motivators as a teacher than it does about effective lesson activities. Probably.

I’ve been reading Willingham’s ‘The Reading Brain’ and am interested in its implications for the lesson activities which I choose to use. In particular here the linking of spoken words with written ones seemed to leave some of my pupils better placed when writing about the lesson later on. Since the experiment and my reading I am making much more use of collective reading, and carefully considered writing tasks at regular intervals in my lessons.

Furthermore I’ve become more aware that there are large elements of my practice which I could do with rationally re-considering. Not because I’m a terrible teacher, but because I could be a better one and the only way to achieve this would be by changing what I do.

What next?

This year I’m trying to avoid spending all my time exploring theoretical cul-de-sacs in order to make practical improvements and additions to the techniques I regularly use in lessons. These will include the following, which I will review and outline  in future posts.

  1. More consistent use of the ‘purple pen challenge’ as a means of encouraging recall and review of previous content.
  2. Question chains
  3. Regular writing in response to carefully considered questions.
  4. Comparative assessment tasks – both digitally and in lesson.
  5. Learning to make better use of ‘knowledge organisers’
  6. Class reading and annotation.
  7. Identifying and supporting students who work more slowly than others (and why the word ‘differentiation’ is potentially unhelpful).
  8. The envelope challenge.

Alongside this I’m interested how enjoyable, surprising (perhaps only to me), and motivating this short process was. I enjoyed discussing the idea with colleagues and sharing the lessons I learned throughout the process. I also felt that through it I became a little more self-aware of my own motivators and biases. Since this episode I’ve already developed two or three new approaches for my Psychology and Sociology lessons (which is rather more than I normally manage at the back end of term 1).

Is there a place for simple experiments in CPD programmes? 

For a while I thought not. Mainly because the ‘findings’ are almost inevitably limited in the reliability and validity departments. However, in this case I’ve learnt something about my own classes in a way which has provoked significant changes to my practice.

Maybe it was seeing the way in which several students in one group lagged far behind their peers in the other. This genuinely concerned me and made me think about the cumulative impact of sitting in lessons like the first one – which, for years I taught (and was encouraged to promote).

On one level at least, I ‘knew’ most of it already, but something about the process of evaluating my own teaching and student answers seems to have really struck home. Maybe this is is the real value of ‘teacher research’ it shook me up enough to question decade long habits.

Post-script

I tend towards being an ‘ideas person’ and with that can find following through with any of these ideas more challenging (and less interesting) than coming up with them. However, since writing this post – and without consciously returning to the list of ideas – I’ve found myself incorporating 6 of the 8 above ideas into my lessons on a regular basis. More support perhaps for the idea that teacher research can lead to practice changes in a way that traditional CPD might not.

 

 

16 responses to “Why did a small, badly designed experiment make me change my teaching forever?”

  1. Andrew Morris Avatar
    Andrew Morris

    On the point about the value of writing things down.

    I find myself in mid life tending to write notes in almost all professional settings – meetings, seminars, lectures etc. I used to think it was a kind of security issue, so I could choose to come back to recall what I had read. Now I think it maybe that the act of writing somehow strengthens my absorption of the point and maybe my understanding .. at the time. It’s as though a tiny act of analysis and interpretation is happening as a I write. It certainly makes me feel equipped to ask questions at the end of a talk.

    On the point about changing your personal practice, after years of not doing so, despite knowing the evidence…..

    I run informal groups discussions about science for a group of non-scientists, in a wine bar. From time to time we visit a scientist in their lab. After lots of discussions about weight, diet, digestions etc., we decided to visit a scientist who had reviewed the evidence about healthy eating and written a book about it for the layperson. The discussion with him, and reading his book afterwards, transformed my eating behaviour. The reason was that at last I had an insight , with visual imagery , for what is going on inside my body. I was able to respond to the evidence because it had given me a mental image of mechanism and , what was happening when things were going wrong and right. The actual concept was that too much sugar, overwhelm your body’s capacity to absorb it, and the excess disrupts the normal control mechanism, resulting in wrong signals going to the brain. The brains of obese people are actually getting signals that they are hungry.

    I have known that sugar is bad for you – there is well publicised evidence to this effect. But i realise the evidence carries no imagery or explanation of the mechanism. It has a moral tone and aims at altering behaviour by appealing to your ethical sense. I have taken little notice of it ( except to avoid extremes like sugary drinks). But now with a picture of how I am distressing the cells of my body by pushing them beyond their capacity I see it as a practical matter, not a moral one. It’s more like just looking after your workshop tools than wearing a hair shirt.

    So maybe we need to mediate evidence more by explanation of what is happening than by invective about good and bad procedures.

    Andrew Morris

    Like

    1. benjamindwhite Avatar
      benjamindwhite

      Thanks for the thoughtful reply. I agree that writing notes seems to help us to understand and process information – if only because if encourages greater focus and depth of thought than might otherwise be the case.

      I like the healthy eating analogy – in particular as it highlights different types of ‘knowing’. In an entirely rational world the information alone should be enough. But it generally isn’t. I like the idea of looking at CPD more holistically – maybe starting from the premise that people are not purely rational and that therefore we may need to encourage experiences, insights into what is happening right in front of them etc in order to encourage long term change.

      Lastly a deeper focus on ‘what is happening’ seems really important as it’s hard to do something successfully with only a loose understanding of what one is actually trying to achieve. I’m not sure I know much more of the evidence base but since the experiment (and one or two others) I feel more confident in the mechanisms i’m trying to drive when teaching and am therefore drifting into a more research informed practice – it’s more practical now than when in abstract researching findings form.

      Looking forward to our next meeting.

      Like

  2. A reflection on teaching assumptions | Driffield School and Sixth Form Teaching and Learning Blog Avatar
    A reflection on teaching assumptions | Driffield School and Sixth Form Teaching and Learning Blog
  3. teachwell Avatar
    teachwell

    As a primary teacher I spent years ignoring the fact that so many children were happy about handwriting practice (boring) while also not understanding why I couldn’t induce enthusiasm amongst all for volcano explosions (exciting). It’s not that I don’t think the latter lesson should be avoided but what am I doing it for? The explosion? Well it’s not so exciting when they see it coming and it’s not the real thing anyway…maybe I would have been better off showing clips than creating a Design and Technology Unit around excitement (what skills did they learn? Was it building on previous ones? Were they moving on? Would a different non- volcano unit have been better long term?).

    I think we need to move away from our own preconceived ideas of boring/interesting and think about what pupils needs and the subject matter (which if we are knowledge is going to be interesting for most if not all – the latter being an impossible ask anyway!).

    I did Psychology A-Level and I was interested in some bits more than others but that’s human and I’m not sure we need to work around that in creating a syllabus. I appreciate at your level there is less pressure to do so but in creating the foundations I do need to consider where it’s leading. In the end, if it’s not helping them to get to you so you can teach what you need to in order for them to have the opportunity to do well, then it’s a bit pointless isn’t it?

    Like

    1. benjamindwhite Avatar
      benjamindwhite

      I agree. When I started training I think I drifted into the idea that lessons were inherently boring so starters/hooks/ loosely related video etc were needed to almost trick students into learning. I still think than showing relevance/application/links to their own world and lives is really helpful (as is often the case in Psychology) but in the main am of the view that learning is in itself interesting more fun than baseless fun!. Happy New Year and thanks for the response.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. benwilbrink Avatar
    benwilbrink

    My guess. GroupB: cognitive overload caused by questioning and talking in pairs and groups getting in the way of consolidating content knowledge. ( = more or less the predicament of guided discovery learning)

    Like

    1. benjamindwhite Avatar
      benjamindwhite

      I think you could be right – hope so, anyway as since then I have significantly increased the ammount of time students spend consolidating ideas by taking note in response to focused questions about new content.

      Like

  5. Flora Avatar
    Flora

    Really helpful for thinking about A Level teaching in particular, thank you! Often students making notes can seem like a ‘waste of time’ when they have the textbook etc but it clearly plays a valuable role in forming memory and understanding. I often notice that students ask questions once they are actually making notes on something and therefore are aware of what they have and haven’t understood.

    Like

  6. What Teachers Tapped This Week #15 – 8th January 2018 – Teacher Tapp

    […] Experiment in getting pupils to copy information into books […]

    Like

  7. Big brother is most likely not watching you – Teaching What English for What Purpose? Avatar
    Big brother is most likely not watching you – Teaching What English for What Purpose?

    […] My use of time: How can I get better at teaching in a more focussed way and avoid ‘theoretical cul-de-sacs’? […]

    Like

  8. mrscotney Avatar
    mrscotney

    Just a thought – have you considered the effects of performance v learning? Maybe the group that did better did so because they were regurgitating work they had studied the previous day? From the outline you have provided group B did the harder work….most research on learning would support tend to group B retaining more over time. I would suggest that testing once, a day after the initial learning acquisition phase, was not long enough, and that following it up a few weeks later might have provided you with a different result. One very short experiment that was quickly abandoned isn’t enough evidence from which to draw any firm conclusions, I would suggest.

    Like

    1. benjamindwhite Avatar
      benjamindwhite

      Good question. The more I think about it the less clear I am on whether I was particularly close to testing what I intended to. I’m keen to explore further the performance/learning challenge – but would still be concerned that 4 students could recall essentially nothing from the conditions I’ve moved away from. To further muddy the water – the ‘note taking’ which students did was not simply transcribing but involved answering questions and interpreting/translating the key info to do so. Whereas the ‘questioning’ (but unwritten) activities may have not worked as well as they could because there was space within them for students to opt-out or not ‘think hard.’

      I did find the experience helpful in that it made me think more about specifically what I aim to achieve in lessons, how I think this might happen and the lessons as experienced by the students.

      I’m also interested in how I found my teaching changing (not effortlessly) but in a sustained manner since adopting a more reflective approach to my practice. Have just finished an overview of 8 practices I regularly use in lessons which I’ll be sharing over the next term or so. Some are aiming to tackle the long-term learning over short term-performance issue.

      Thanks

      Like

      1. mrscotney Avatar
        mrscotney

        And at the end of the day, if you’re reflecting and adapting your practice for the better as a result of this experiment, there will be a positive impact for your students in the end. I do think that trusting learning over performance does require one to hold his/her nerve which is why I believe in tracking scores over time to allow for comparison. I would strongly encourage you to dig into the research on retrieval practice if you have not done so as that will explain many of the points I have raised.

        Regards

        Like

  9. On being predictable. 8 things you’ll see in most of my lessons and the 4 principles which underpin them. (Part 1/6) – Walden Education

    […] In an earlier post I outlined a small-scale experiment with my own classes – and how it sparked ch… I’m now going to describe those changes. I will identify four principles which underpin my teaching and 8 practices which are informed by them. […]

    Like

  10. How would teachers vote in a General Election? – Teacher Tapp : Ask · Answer · Learn

    […] Ben White’s experiment that changed his teaching […]

    Like

  11. What Teachers Tapped This Week #15 - 8th January 2018 - Teacher Tapp

    […] Experiment in getting pupils to copy information into books […]

    Like

Leave a comment